The Future of Mainstream Media

4 thoughts on “The Future of Mainstream Media

  1. That “See no evil” graphic is funny! I think hyper-local media is definitely on the rise. I see that in my life with the places I go for neighborhood news and connections. But I still rely on the big guys for a broader perspective, and I am not sure if I will ever be able to trust a self-proclaimed journalist as much as a professional journalist (well, I suppose that depends on which organization they are working for…).

  2. That’s a really good point! In the future, more and more users would be generating the content. Social Media is hot, but it maybe just a beginning. I guess in the future, we dont even need some sort of “editor” anymore…

    BTW, Eric, May I know that which tool did you use to record your whole screening? Its cool!

  3. Do you think that if today, all of a sudden, all of the professional media outlets suddenly went dark and disappeared – and I’m talking CNN, MSNBC, FOX, NBC, NY Times, Tribune Co, AP, Reuters, CBS, etc. all of it – that we’d be able to get relevant, accurate news and great entertainment from what remains? To be sure, reporters and journalists are just people who’ve been trained for a career, so you can imagine that over time that you could train new ones. But would they grow back as a mirror of today’s media conglomerates or would the really effective ones be independent, hyper-local entities?

Leave a Reply

